Appointments to Travel Industry Compensation Fund Management Board

The Government gazetted today (January 4) appointments to the Travel Industry Compensation Fund Management Board (TICFMB).

Mr Michael Wu Siu-ieng, the recently re-elected Chairman of the Travel Industry Council of Hong Kong, has been re-appointed as a member with effect from January 1, 2013 until October 14, 2014. Ms Gilly Wong Fung-han, the new Chief Executive of the Consumer Council, has replaced her predecessor Ms Connie Lau Yin-hing, who has retired from the Council, as a member of the TICFMB with effect from January 1, 2013 to October 14, 2014.

"We are grateful to Ms Lau for her valuable contribution to the work of the TICFMB over the past years and we welcome Ms Wong to the TICFMB. We look forward to working closely with the TICFMB in further strengthening the protection of outbound travellers," a government spokesman said.

The TICFMB is a statutory body established under the Travel Agents Ordinance (Chapter 218). It holds, manages and applies the Travel Industry Compensation Fund which provides ex gratia payment to outbound group or package travellers who suffer loss in the event of default of travel agents and group travellers who sustain injuries or death in accidents whilst travelling abroad.

The composition of the TICFMB with effect from January 1, 2013 is as follows:

Chairman:

Mr Kevin Lam Sze-cay

Members:

Mr Chan Kam-lam

Ms Michelle Ip Mei-ho

Mr Jimmy Poon Wing-fai

Ms Ada Tse Koon-hang

Mr Joseph Tung Yao-chung

Ms Gilly Wong Fung-han

Mr Michael Wu Siu-ieng

The Registrar of Travel Agents

Ends/Friday, January 4, 2013

Issued at HKT 11:00