The Government today (October 15) announced the appointment of two additional members to the Mega Events Fund Assessment Committee. The appointments will take effect from today until June 14, 2014.

The new members are Dr Paul Liu Ngai-wing and Ms Florence Chan Sock-fun.

With effect from today, the membership of the Mega Events Fund Assessment Committee will be as follows:

Chairman

Mr Jeffrey Lam Kin-fung

Non-official members Mr Chris Burke

Ms Florence Chan Sock-fun

Professor Frank Fu Hoo-kin

Mr Michael Hobson

Mr Wayne Leung Wai-yin

Dr Paul Liu Ngai-wing

Mr Stephen Tan

Official members

Deputy Commissioner for Tourism

Deputy Director of Information Services

Deputy Secretary for Home Affairs

"We are grateful to the two new appointees for their agreement to serve on the Assessment Committee. Their rich experience in the entertainment field will be most relevant to the work of the Assessment Committee in bringing more attractive mega events to Hong Kong," a Government spokesman said.

The Assessment Committee advises the Government on the administration of the Mega Events Fund, including drawing up the procedures, guidelines and criteria for assessing applications; considering applications; monitoring the progress of events supported by the Fund and evaluating their performance.

The Mega Events Fund was established in May 2009 for a term of three years. Funding approval was obtained in April 2012 from the Finance Committee of the Legislative Council to extend the operation of the Fund for five years under a modified two-tier system to attract more internationally acclaimed mega events to Hong Kong and reinforce Hong Kong's position as an events capital of Asia.

Ends/Monday, October 15, 2012 Issued at HKT 17:00

NNNN