

The Government announced today (June 24) that the Chief Executive has appointed and reappointed the following persons to the Board of the Ocean Park Corporation (OPC) for a period of two years from July 1, 2011, to June 30, 2013.

(a) Appointment

Ms Betty Ho Siu-fong

Professor Becky Loo Pui-ying

(b) Reappointment

Mr Thomas J Mehrmann

Professor Yvonne Sadovy

Dr Greg Wong Chak-yan

The Permanent Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury (Treasury) (or representative)

The Permanent Secretary for Home Affairs (or representative)

The Permanent Secretary for Development (Works) (or representative)

The Commissioner for Tourism (or representative)

"We are grateful to the board members of the Ocean Park Corporation for their continuous efforts in pursuing the development of Ocean Park. With their expertise in different aspects, Ocean Park will continue to grow as a world-class marine-themed attraction," said the Acting Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development, Mr Gregory So.

"We would also like to thank the outgoing members, Professor Jim Chi-yung and the Professor Hon Patrick Lau Sau-shing, for their invaluable contribution to the work of the board in the past six years." The OPC is a statutory body established under the Ocean Park Corporation Ordinance to manage Ocean Park as a public recreational and educational park.

Ends/Friday, June 24, 2011 Issued at HKT 11:09