Appointments to Advisory Committee on Travel Agents

The Government today (November 26) announced appointments to the Advisory Committee on Travel Agents (ACTA).

Professor Cathy Hsu Hui-chun has been appointed as a new member of the committee. Eight existing members, Mr Richard Au Yeung Sei-kwok, Miss Tanya Chan, Mr Ken Chang Kin-ming, Ms Connie Lau Yin-hing, Mr Tommy Li Ying-sang, Mrs Bethy Tam Ho Kam-man, Mr Joseph Tung Yao-chung and Mr Freddy Yip Hing-ning have been re-appointed.

All the appointments are for a term of two years with effect from November 19.

Mr Winston Chow Wun-sing, Mr Edward Kwan Pak-chung and Professor Lee Kam-hon have retired from the committee.

"We are grateful to the retiring members for their valuable contribution to the work of ACTA over the past years. We welcome the new member and look forward to working closely with ACTA to further enhance the service quality of the travel trade for the benefit of the travelling public and inbound visitors," a government spokesman said.

ACTA is a statutory body established under section 7 of the Travel Agents Ordinance (TAO). It advises the Government on matters relating to the regulation of the travel agent trade and issues affecting the interests of the travel trade and consumers.

The appointments to ACTA are made by the Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development under section 7(2) of the TAO, under delegated authority from the Chief Executive.

The composition of ACTA with effect from November 19, 2010 is as follows:

Chairman: Dr Dennis Sun Tai-lun

Members: Mr Richard Au Yeung Sei-kwok Miss Tanya Chan Mr Ken Chang Kin-ming Professor Cathy Hsu Hui-chun Mr Anthony Lau Chun-hon Ms Connie Lau Yin-hing Mr Tommy Li Ying-sang Mrs Bethy Tam Ho Kam-man Mr Joseph Tung Yao-chung Mr Wilfred Wong Kam-pui Mr Wilfred Wong Kam-pui Mr Michael Wu Siu-ieng Mr Freddy Yip Hing-ning Commissioner for Tourism or Assistant Commissioner for Tourism (1) Registrar of Travel Agents

Ends/Friday, November 26, 2010 Issued at HKT 11:21