\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*

The Government today (October 29) announced appointments to the Hong Kong Tourism Board (HKTB).

Three new members are appointed for two years from November 1, 2010, to October 31, 2012. They are Miss Linda Yuen Lai-fung (executive director of a travel agency), Mr Michael Wu Siu-ieng (chairman of the Travel Industry Council of Hong Kong) and Mr Benjamin Chau Kai-leung (deputy executive director of the Hong Kong Trade Development Council).

Dr Michael Chan Yue-kwong, Ms Shirley Chan Suk-ling, Mr Stanley Hui Hon-chung, Mr Ko Chi-sum, Mr Larry Kwok Lam-kwong, Mr Ananda Arawwawela and Ms Lo Po-man are re-appointed as members of the HKTB. The Commissioner for Tourism is re-appointed as a member and the Deputy Chairman of the HKTB. Their terms will run from November 1, 2010, to October 31, 2012.

Mr Lo Sui-on, Mr Ronnie Ho Pak-ting and Mr Frederick Lam Tin-fuk have served the HKTB for six years and will retire.

"We welcome Miss Yuen, Mr Wu and Mr Chau to join the Board and are grateful to the members of the Board for their continued support. With their expertise and experience in different respects, we are confident that they will help the HKTB in enhancing Hong Kong's position as a premier tourist destination," a spokesman for the Commerce and Economic Development Bureau said.

"We would also like to thank the three outgoing members for their contribution to the work of the Board in the past six years. The HKTB has benefited in no small measure from their wise counsel," the spokesman added.

Appointments to the HKTB are made by the Financial Secretary under section 9 of the Hong Kong Tourism Board Ordinance, under delegated authority from the Chief Executive.

Ends/Friday, October 29, 2010 Issued at HKT 10:52