The Government today (October 30) announced the appointment of the Chairman of Fuji Photo Products Co Ltd, Dr Dennis Sun Tai-lun, and the Director of Division Talent Management of DFS Hong Kong Limited, Mr Wilfred Wong Kam-pui, as the chairman and member of the Advisory Committee on Travel Agents (ACTA) respectively for a term of two years from November 1, 2009 to October 31, 2011.

They will replace the outgoing chairman Ms Vivien Chan and member Mr Chan Kin-por, who have served on the committee for six years.

Current ACTA member Mr Anthony Lau Chun-hon is re-appointed for two years with effect from November 1.

"We are most grateful to Ms Chan and Mr Chan for their valuable contribution to the work of ACTA over the past six years. We also welcome Dr Sun and Mr Wong to join the committee and look forward to working closely with them and other ACTA members in enhancing the quality of the travel trade for the benefit of the travelling public and inbound visitors," a government spokesman said.

ACTA is a statutory body established under section 7 of the Travel Agents Ordinance. It advises the Government on matters relating to the regulation of the travel agent trade and issues affecting the interests of the travel trade and consumers.

The appointments to ACTA are made by the Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development under section 7(2) of the ordinance, under delegated authority from the Chief Executive.

Ends/Friday, October 30, 2009 Issued at HKT 11:01