Press Releases

Appointments to Board of Ocean Park Corporation

The Government today (June 26) announced that the Chief Executive had re-appointed Dr Allan Zeman and appointed Mr Leo Kung as the chairman and deputy chairman of the Board of the Ocean Park Corporation (OPC) respectively for a period of three years from July 1, 2009 to June 30, 2012.

The following members were also re-appointed or appointed to the OPC board :

(a) Re-appointments

Professor Jim Chi-yung (for two years from July 1, 2009 to June 30, 2011)

Professor Patrick Lau (for two years from July 1, 2009 to June 30, 2011)

Mr Thomas Mehrmann (for two years from July 1, 2009 to June 30, 2011)

Ir Dr Greg Wong (for two years from July 1, 2009 to June 30, 2011)

Miss Paddy Lui (for one year from July 1, 2009 to June 30, 2010)

(b) Appointment

Professor Yvonne Sadovy (for two years from July 1, 2009 to June 30, 2011)

"We are grateful to members of the board for their continued support. With their dedication and professional expertise, the Ocean Park will continue to develop into a world-class marine-themed attraction," a government spokesman said. "We would also like to thank the outgoing members, including Mr Kevin Westley, Mr Adrian Li, Professor Nora Tam and Mr James Thompson, for their invaluable contribution to the work of the board in the past."

The Ocean Park Corporation is a statutory body established under the Ocean Park Corporation Ordinance to manage the Ocean Park as a public recreational and educational park.

Ends/Friday, June 26, 2009 Issued at HKT 11:06