Government announces appointments to Hong Kong Tourism Board

The Government today (December 24) announced appointments to the Hong Kong Tourism Board (HKTB).

Two new members, Mr Stephen Chan Chi-wan and Mr Sin Chung-kai, are appointed for two years and 10 months with effect from January 1, 2009. They will replace the seats vacated by Mr Vincent Fang Kang, who will retire from the HKTB, and the late Dr Chan Wai-kwan.

Mr Stephen Chan is the General Manager (Broadcasting) of Television Broadcasts Limited. He is also a member of the Quality Education Fund Steering Committee and the Court of the University of Hong Kong.

Mr Sin was a member of the Legislative Council from 1995 to 2008. He is currently a member of the Housing Authority, Operations Review Committee of the Independent Commission Against Corruption, and the West Kowloon Cultural District Authority. He is also an honorary member of the Court of the Hong Kong University of Science and Technology.

"We are most grateful to the outgoing Mr Fang and the late Dr Chan for their valuable contributions to the work of the HKTB during their tenure. Their dedication and unfailing support to the board have contributed in no small measure to the development of tourism in Hong Kong. The late Dr Chan's wise counsel and passion in serving the board were deeply appreciated and we will always remember him. We look forward to working with the new members and are confident that their expertise and knowledge will help the HKTB in developing effective marketing strategies and promoting Hong Kong as a premier tourist destination," the Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development, Mrs Rita Lau, said.

The appointments to the HKTB are made by the Financial Secretary under section 9(1) of the Hong Kong Tourism Board Ordinance, under delegated authority from the Chief Executive. The composition of the HKTB with effect from January 1, 2009, will be as follows:

Chairman: Mr James Tien Pei-chun Deputy Chairman: Commissioner for Tourism Members: Mr Ananda Arawwawela Ms Vivien Chan Mr Stephen Chan Chi-wan Ms Shirley Chan Suk-ling Dr Michael Chan Yue-kwong Mr Dane Cheng Ting-yat Mr Chow Chung-kong Dr Patrick Fung Yuk-bun Mr Ronnie Ho Pak-ting Mr Stanley Hui Hon-chung Mr Ko Chi-sum Mr Larry Kwok Lam-kwon Mr Peter Lam Kin-ngok Mr Frederick Lam Tin-fuk Ms Lo Po-man Mr Lo Sui-on Mr Sin Chung-kai Mr Wilfred Wong Ying-wai

Ends/Wednesday, December 24, 2008 Issued at HKT 11:57

NNNN