
The Government today (November 19) announced appointments to the Advisory Committee on Travel Agents (ACTA).

Six existing members, Mr Winston Chow, Mr Ronnie Ho, Mr Edward Kwan, Ms Connie Lau, Mr Tommy Li and Mr Joseph Tung, have been re-appointed.

Six new members have been appointed. They are Chairman of the Broad Vic Advertising Ltd Mr Richard Au Yeung; Legislative Council member Miss Tanya Chan; Vice President of Associated Tour Ltd Mr Ken Chang; Professor of Marketing and Director of the School of Hotel and Tourism Management of the Chinese University of Hong Kong Professor Lee Kam-hon; Chief Operating Officer of Standard Chartered Bank (Hong Kong) Limited Mrs Bethy Tam; and Managing Director of Goldjoy Travel Limited Mr Freddy Yip Hing-ning.

Mr Ronnie Ho has been re-appointed for one year with effect from today (November 19). Other members are appointed for a term of two years from today to November 18, 2010.

Five members, Ms Sylvia Chung, Mr Keung Chok-kung, Mr Lee Yuen-kwong, Mr Sin Chung-kai and Dr Dennis Sun, have retired from the committee.

"We are grateful to the retiring members for their valuable contribution to the work of ACTA over past years. We welcome the new members and look forward to working closely with ACTA to enhance the quality of the travel trade for the benefit of the travelling public and inbound visitors," a government spokesman said.

ACTA is a statutory body established under section 7 of the Travel Agents Ordinance (TAO). It advises the Government on matters relating to the regulation of the travel agent trade and issues affecting the interests of the travel trade and consumers.

The appointments to ACTA are made by the Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development under section 7(2) of the TAO, under delegated authority from the Chief Executive. The composition of ACTA with effect from today is as follows:

Chairman: Ms Vivien Chan

Members: Mr Richard Au Yeung

Mr Chan Kin-por

Miss Tanya Chan

Mr Ken Chang

Mr Winston Chow

Mr Ronnie Ho

Mrs Gianna Hsu

Mr Edward Kwan

Mr Anthony Lau

Ms Connie Lau

Professor Lee Kam-hon

Mr Tommy Li

Mrs Bethy Tam

Mr Joseph Tung

Mr Freddy Yip

Commissioner for Tourism or Assistant Commissioner for Tourism

Registrar of Travel Agents

Ends/Wednesday, November 19, 2008

Issued at HKT 15:42