Appointments to Hong Kong Tourism Board

The Government announced today (October 31) the re-appointment of two members to the Hong Kong Tourism Board (HKTB).

The Hong Kong Tourism Board Ordinance provides that the HKTB shall consist of 20 members, among which two shall be hotel operators.

Mr Mark Lettenbichler, Chairman of the Hong Kong Hotels Association, and Mr George Magnus, Deputy Chairman of the Federation of Hong Kong Hotel Owners, are incumbent members of the seats provided for hotel operators in the HKTB. Both have been re-appointed to the Board for a term of three years with effect from November 1, 2002 to October 31, 2005.

There is no change to the composition of the HKTB after the reappointments which is as follows -

Prof Andrew Chan Chi-fai;

Mr Chau Kam-piu;

Mr Philip Chen Nan-lok;

Mr Paul Chiu Kai-wo;

Mr Robert Chow Yung;

Hon Mrs Selina Chow Liang Shuk-yee, Chairman of HKTB;

Ms Wailee Chow;

Mr Chung Po-yang;

Mr Adolf Hsu Hsung;

Mr Michael Hui Koon-man;

Mr Dick Kaufman;

Mr Stanley Ko Kam-chuen;

Mr Mark Lettenbichler;

Mr George Magnus;

Mr Michael Sze Cho-cheung;

Mr Tang Kwai-nang;

Mr James Tak Wu;

Mr Patrick Yeung Wai-tim;

Mr Yu Pang-chun; and

Secretary for Economic Development and Labour or Commissioner for Tourism, Deputy Chairman of HKTB.

The Secretary for Economic Development and Labour, Mr Stephen Ip, expressing his delight with the reappointments, said, "Both Mr Lettenbichler and Mr Magnus are very experienced in the hotel sector and have made a significant contribution to the HKTB's work. We look forward to continue working with them and the hotel trade to further promote tourism development in Hong Kong."

End/Thursday, October 31, 2002