The Government announced today (March 27) the appointment/reappointment of the Chairman, Deputy Chairman and two members to the Hong Kong Tourism Board (HKTB).

The Hong Kong Tourism Board (Amendment) Ordinance, enacted on April 1, 2001, provides for, among other things, the establishment of the HKTB in place of the former Hong Kong Tourist Association (HKTA). The HKTB shall consist of 20 members, including the Chairman and Deputy Chairman.

The Hon Mrs Selina Chow, the Chairman of HKTB, and two other members, Mr Paul Chiu and Mr Robert Chow, have been re-appointed to the Board for a term of three years with effect from April 1, 2002 to March 31, 2005. The Secretary for Economic Services and his or her alternate, the Commissioner for Tourism, is appointed to be the Deputy Chairman from April 1, 2002 to May 31, 2003, when the current term of membership will expire.

As a result of the appointments, the composition of the HKTB is now:

Prof Andrew Chan Chi Fai;

Mr Chau Kam Piu;

Mr Philip Chen Nan Lok;

Mr Paul Chiu Kai Wo;

Mr Robert Chow Yung;

Hon Mrs Selina Chow Liang Shuk Yee, Chairman of HKTB;

Ms Wailee Chow;

Mr Chung Po Yang;

Mr Adolf Hsu Hsung;

Mr Michael Hui Koon Man;

Mr Dick Kaufman;

Mr Stanley Ko Kam Chuen;

Mr Mark Lettenbichler;

Mr George Magnus;

Mr Michael Sze Cho Cheung:

Mr Tang Kwai Nang;

Mr James Tak Wu;

Mr Patrick Yeung Wai Tim;

Mr Yu Pang Chun; and

Secretary for Economic Services or Commissioner for Tourism, Deputy Chairman of HKTB.

Welcoming the appointment of the Hon Mrs Selina Chow as Chairman of HKTB, the Secretary for Economic Services, Ms Sandra Lee said, "Mrs Chow was first appointed Chairman of HKTA in April 2000. We have been working very closely with Mrs Chow and the HKTB to promote tourism. We look forward to continue working with Mrs Chow and under her able leadership, with the HKTB to further promote tourism development in Hong Kong."

Ms Lee also said that Mr Paul Chiu and Mr Robert Chow had made significant contribution to the HKTB's business, and was pleased to see their re-appointment to the HKTB.

End/Wednesday, March 27, 2002 NNNN